Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

On a user's details page, a Devices table lists all the mobile devices associated with the user—that is, all the devices on which the user has logged in to the App Catalog. From this table, you can remove a device to disassociate it from the user in Apperian. This is useful when a user upgrades to a new device and stops using the old one, or when you transfer a device from one user to another. 

In the Devices table, the Last Active Date column is a useful indicator of inactive devices; it identifies the date when the user last interacted with Apperian from the device. Interaction includes any type of communication between the device and Apperian, such as listing apps in the App Catalog or updating an app. In the following example, the user is associated with four devices, but has not connected with Apperian from one of the devices for months.  


Panel
borderColor#64c8f1
titleColor#ffffff
titleBGColor#64c8f1
borderStylesolid
titleRelated Pages



When you disassociate a device from a user:

  • The device is no longer listed in the user's Devices table.
      
  • The device is no longer listed for the user in "real-time" reports, such as the Device Details report. Historical data about a user-device association is still listed in reports; for example, a Download Activity report will list a user's past activity downloading apps to a device that has since been removed. 
     
  • It does not impact any existing associations between that device and other users. If you want to remove the device from another user with whom it is associated, you need to do that from that other user's details page. 
      
  • Apperian no longer sends push notifications to the device for that user-device combination. This is important to keep in mind if you transfer a device from one user to another. If you transfer the device without first uninstalling applications that the previous user installed, Apperian will not send push notifications to the device when updates of those installed applications are available until the new user either reinstalls or updates the apps.

    Tip
    titleBest Practice

    Apperian recommends that you uninstall the App Catalog and all apps installed through the App Catalog before transferring a device to a new user.

     

If you remove a device from a user and the user logs in to Apperian from the same device again in the future (either through the App Catalog or a wrapped an app that prompts the user to authenticate with Apperian), Apperian reassociates the device to the user, and adds the device back to the user's Devices table. When a device is reassociated with a user, Apperian maintains all historical data about that user-device combination as long as the device ID for the new association is the same as the device ID for the previous association. This will typically be the case, except on iOS devices where the App Catalog and all apps installed through it were removed from the device before Apperian reassociated the device with the user.

Warning
iconfalse

Removing a device removes the user-device association in Apperian but does not prohibit the user from logging back in to the App Catalog from that device if either the catalog is still installed on the device or the user re-installs it. To block a user from running the App Catalog on a particular device, you should disable the device for that user. To block a user from running the App Catalog on any device, you should disable the user.

To remove the association between a user and a device:

  1. On the Admin Portal navigation bar, click Users.
     
  2. Click the View link next to the name of the user with the device you want to remove. This displays a page with details about the user, including a Devices table that lists all the devices on which the user has logged into the App Catalog. The Last Active Date column can help you identify which devices are no longer used and therefore good candidates for removal. If the column lists N/A, it means the device has not been active since before January 11, 2017 (when the Last Active Date feature was implemented). 


     

  3. In the Actions column for the device you want to remove, click Remove.
     

  4. Click OK on the message dialog box to confirm that you want to remove the device.