Disabling a user temporarily prohibits the user from accessing the App Catalog or the Admin Portal. If a disabled user tries to log in, the user will see a message that advises the user to contact the administrator. To grant access to the user again in the future, you can use the Enable function.
To permanently delete a user, use the Delete function. For more information, see Delete a User.
When you disable a user, the user is blocked from running apps with any of Apperian's policies applied. See Available Policies for a complete list.
To disable or enable a user
- On the Admin Portal navigation bar, click Users.
Navigate to the row for the user you want to enable/disable. Use the Search field to quickly find a specific user. You can search the First Name, Last Name, Phone, User ID, Email, and Custom Metadata fields. Refer to the table below for search guidelines:
To search this column... Enter... First Name
A case-insensitive string to return a list of users with the specified text string anywhere in their name or phone number. For example, if you type the string
Davinto the search field, the list returned will include all users who have the letters
Dav(upper or lowercase) anywhere in their first or last name.
Last Name Phone User ID A case-insensitive, full user ID or email. You cannot search for a partial string in these fields because the data is encrypted in the database. The search returns exact matches only.
field_nameis case-sensitive and must be the full name of the custom metadata field, not the label.
stringis not case-sensitive. If you leave
stringblank, no results are returned.
For example: To search the
departmentfield for users in the
- In the Actions column for the user, click the Disable or Enable link. Depending on the current status of the user, the appropriate link is displayed. You can view additional details about the status of the user by clicking View to display the user details page. For more information, see View User Details.
Click OK to confirm that you want to disable or enable the user.
The page highlights the row of a disabled user in red.