Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 11 Next »

 

When you need to deploy a new version of a native application to your App Catalog users, you edit the application to upload the new binary file. EASE provides several features that let you manage this update process, and help your users stay current with the latest and greatest version of their enterprise apps. This page provides an overview of these features and links you to other pages for more detail. For instructions on editing an app to upload a new version, see Edit or Update an Application.

Push Notifications and the Update Page

When you update an app, you can choose to have EASE send a push notification to the devices of users who have installed the app. On iOS devices, the push notification flags the App Catalog icon on the user's Home screen with a badge that identifies the number of updates available.

NEED TO CHANGE THE WAY WE SHOW THESE

On This Page

On Android devices, the user receives the notification in the notification area and can tap it to open the App Catalog.

A a user will receive a push notification only if the user is running an App Catalog for which the Push Notification feature is enabled. For information on enabling Push Notification, see Push Notification for an App Catalog.

Once in the App Catalog—regardless of whether a push notification is sent—a user can install any updates that are available for native apps that the user has installed from the App Catalog. In the App Catalog, EASE flags updates a couple ways:

  • Updates page: The Updates page lists all native apps in the App Catalog that the user has installed on the device AND have updates available (that have not yet been installed on the device. The user can select and install an individual update, or tap the Update All button.
  • Updates button: When a native app is installed on the device and an update is available, the Run button changes to Update in the My Apps list and any other list of apps in the App Catalog. The user can tap Update to install the update directly from the app listing.

SHOW PICS

With iOS apps, the Run/Update buttons display only if the app was signed using the EASE Signing Server. When the user installs an app that was not signed with the Signing Server, the user will see a green check mark, instead of a Run or Update button, indicating that the app is installed an can be launched.

Optional or Mandatory Updates and Compliance Periods

When you update an app, you can mark the update as mandatory by specifying that users are required to update to the new version by a particular date. (This is done using Application Update Settings on the Edit Application page.) Users are prompted to install the update when they log in to the App Catalog, and are not allowed to continue using the App Catalog until they install all mandatory updates.

When you deploy a mandatory update of an application, you can enable a "compliance period" to specify that users must install the update within a set number of days after the app becomes mandatory. If the compliance period expires before the user installs the app, EASE automatically disables the user. For example, if you update the binary file for an app and specify that users must install the update by January 8, 2014 with a compliance period of 7 days, then the compliance period will start on January 8, 2014 and end at 12:00 a.m. GMT on January 15, 2014. When the period ends, EASE automatically disables users who have not installed the update.

Disabled users cannot use the App Catalog; when they attempt to log in, a message advises them to contact support. If an administrator wants to give a disabled user another chance to install the app, the administrator can manually re-enable the user.

If you do not require the user to update by a specified date, then the update is optional—that is, the user chooses when and if to install the update.

Self Updating App Policy

You can apply the Self Updating App policy to an app to prompt users to install an update when they launch the application, in addition to when they log in to the App Catalog. For more information on this policy, see Self Updating App.

 

  • No labels