Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 13 Next »

 

To deploy a new version of a native application to your App Catalog users, you need to edit the application to upload the new binary file. EASE provides several features to help you manage this update process, and to help your users stay current with the latest and greatest versions of their enterprise apps. This page provides an overview of these features and links you to other pages for more detail. For instructions on editing an app to upload a new version, see Edit or Update an Application.

Push Notifications and the Update Page

When you update an app, you can choose to have EASE send a push notification to the devices of users who have installed the app. On iOS devices, the push notification flags the App Catalog icon on the user's Home screen with a badge that identifies the number of updates available.

NEED TO CHANGE THE WAY WE SHOW THESE

On This Page

On Android devices, the user receives the notification in the notification area and can tap it to open the App Catalog.

A a user will receive a push notification only if the user is running an App Catalog for which the Push Notification feature is enabled. For information on enabling Push Notification, see Push Notification for an App Catalog.

Once in the App Catalog—regardless of whether a push notification is sent—a user can install any updates that are available for native apps that the user has installed from the App Catalog. In the App Catalog, EASE flags updates a couple ways:

  • Updates page: The Updates page lists all native apps in the App Catalog that the user has installed on the device AND have updates available (that have not yet been installed on the device. The user can select and install an individual update, or tap the Update All button.

  • Updates button: When a native app is installed on the device and an update is available, the Run button changes to Update in the My Apps list and any other list of apps in the App Catalog. The user can tap Update to install the update directly from the app listing.

With iOS apps, the Run/Update buttons display only if the app was signed using the EASE Signing Server. When the user installs an app that was not signed with the Signing Server, the user will see a green check mark, instead of a Run or Update button, indicating that the app is installed an can be launched.

Mandatory Versus Optional Updates

When you update an app, you can make the update mandatory to specify that users are required to update to the new version by a particular date. (This is done using the Application Update Settings on the Edit Application page.) When an update is mandatory, users are prompted to install it when they log in to the App Catalog, and they cannot continue using the App Catalog until all mandatory updates are installed.

If you do not require the user to update by a specified date, then the update is optional—that is, the user chooses when and if to install the update.

Mandatory Update Compliance Period

When you make an update mandatory, you can enable a "compliance period" to specify that users must install the update within a set number of days. If the compliance period expires before the user installs the app, EASE automatically disables the user. Disabled users cannot use the App Catalog; when they attempt to log in, a message advises them to contact support. Let's look at an example flow:

  1. Joe User installs version 1.0 of the "Procedures" app installed on his iPad.

  2. Some time later, the EASE administrator uploads a version 2.0 of the "Procedures" app. This new version includes critical changes that the administrator wants to deploy to every App Catalog user who has installed the app. Therefore, the administrator uses Application Update Settings to indicate that the update must be installed by January 8, 2014 with a compliance period of 7 days. This compliance period will start on January 8, 2014 and end at 12:00 a.m. GMT on January 15, 2014.
  3. At 12:00 a.m. GMT on January 15, 2014, EASE automatically disables Joe User's user account because he has not yet installed the update.

If desired, an EASE administrator can re-enable a disabled user to give the user another chance to install the update.

Self Updating App Policy

The Self Updating App policy makes it easier for users to stay current with app versions. When a user launches an app wrapped with this policy, EASE checks if there is a new version, and if there is, prompts the user to install it. The Self Updating App policy is different from the push notifications and Updates page described above in that rather than relying on the user to initiate installation of an update through the App Catalog, EASE instead prompts the user to update while the user is launching the app.

When an update is mandatory, the user must either install the update or exit the app. When an update is optional, or when the date for a mandatory update has not yet been reached, the user can choose whether to install the update. If the user does not install the update, the user can continue to use the currently installed version. For more information on this policy, see Self Updating App.

 

  • No labels